The KBA Team

KBA Leadership Team


President & Chief Executive Officer

Kevin Lockett worked for several years at the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, a $2 billion private foundation consulting nationwide to advance education and entrepreneurship.



As general counsel, John sees his role as getting the team – KBA management, portfolio company executives and co-investors – through obstacles to the mutually desired destination.

KBA Investment Consultants

Keith Harrington

Investment Consultant

Keith is a KBA Investment Consultant. He loves working every day with entrepreneurs who are changing the face of healthcare.

Tom Krol

Investment Consultant

Tom is a KBA Investment Consultant. He loves science. He went into pharmacy to help people but found it too limiting.

Tony Simpson

Investment Consultant

Tony loves figuring out how to make things go. Ideas, companies, his 2002 Harley Road King. Being on the front lines, seeing cutting edge technology and harnessing financial management to the entrepreneurial engine drives him.

KBA Support Staff

Julie Sailors

Julie Sailors

Manager Of Administration


Board of Directors

Team Member Name

S.J. Schaub

KBA Chairman | President, Schaub Holdings LLC

S.J. “Sherry” Schaub began his professional career in industry after earning a bachelor of science in engineering operations from Iowa State University.

Team Member Name

Lee Borck

KBA Vice Chairman | Innovative Livestock Services Inc. & Beef Marketing Group Cooperative

Lee Borck is the chairman of Innovative Livestock Services Inc., and chairman of the Beef Marketing Group Cooperative.

Team Member Name

Kenneth D. Buchele

KBA Secretary & Treasurer | Senior VP, ESB Financial

Ken Buchele is senior vice president of commercial lending of ESB Financial, a home owned commercial bank with branches in Emporia and Manhattan.

Team Member Name

Antonio J. Soave

Kansas Secretary of Commerce

Appointed by Gov. Sam Brownback in October 2015, Antonio J. Soave of Overland Park is the Acting Secretary of Commerce.

Team Member Name

Jarold Boettcher

President Boettcher Enterprises Inc., Boettcher Supply Inc., Boettcher Aerial Inc.

Jarold “Jerry” Boettcher of Beloit was appointed to the Kansas Board of Regents by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius in 2007.

Team Member Name

Pat George

CEO, Valley Hope Association

Nominated by Gov. Sam Brownback, Pat George became Kansas Secretary of Commerce in February 2011.

Team Member Name

Earl McVicker

CEO, Central Financial Corporation

Earl McVicker is chairman, president and CEO of Central Financial Corp. and its subsidiary, Central Bank and Trust Co.

Team Member Name

David L. Murfin

CEO, Murfin, Inc.

David Murfin is CEO of Murfin, Inc. whose interests include Murfin Drilling Company, Inc. and Murphy Tractor and Equipment Company.

Team Member Name

Lee Harris

President & CEO, Cohen Esrey

R. Lee Harris is a graduate of Kansas State University. Upon graduation he joined Cohen-Esrey, LLC where he now serves as president and CEO.

Team Member Name

Dale A. Rodman

Former Kansas Secretary of Agriculture

Former Kansas Secretary of Agriculture, Dale A. Rodman was appointed by Gov. Sam Brownback in January 2011.

Team Member Name

Kenny Wilk

Kansas Board of Regents

Kenny Wilk was appointed to the Kansas Board of Regents by Gov. Sam Brownback in July 2011.

Research and Development Advisory Council

Team Member Name


President, Wichita State University

Team Member Name


Chancellor, The University of Kansas

Team Member Name


President, Kansas State University

Team Member Name


President, Pittsburg State University